PDF NEW (Screen Tests Stories and Other Writing)

L literatureI have thought about this uestion for a while now and I think it connects to than just writing it s about art making it s about a way of life that is opposed to a mainstream homogenized successAnd I said to his that there is always something to be angry about always something to rage againstIf I could only write throughout my ntire life with the lectricity of the amateurThere needs to be a word I ve realized for the parasitism of middlebrow art and

LITERATURE THAT STEALS FROM INTERESTING AND 
that steals from interesting and art but in and literature that steals from interesting and radical art but in process strips it of its ferality its political urgency its ueerness its threat Sarah Schulman uses the term gentrified also connecting it to AckerWriter s block How boring I am supposed to be working on an ssay this Fragments essay in fact but something stalls me I cannotnter into it I am unsure what is the use of all this first person any I don t know There were some fragments that I really Foundations of Tropical Forest Biology: Classic Papers with Commentaries enjoyed the trifecta of Tallulah Bankhead Heiress Louise Brooks in a Mint Green Housecoat was a really interestingxamination of like fame femininity and aging But for the most part I just Felt Like I Was Reading like I was reading journal that someone had written with the intention of writing a capital j Journal I am a pretty big fan of Zambreno I read what she writes I see myself in it I see myself writing like her I feel like I could read her writing about the process of unclogging a drain and find it brilliant That being said I didn t love Screen Tests The book is made up of ssays and the screen tests which are one to two page stories a la Lydia Davis or reports Gerald Murnane that reflect or wander around topics like writers Sontag Stein Ferrante cinema dogs in film Meg Ryan vehicle photography celebrity philosophy and so on I think my problem was that I sat down and ndeavoured to read the whole thing at once which is probably antithetical to the idea of screen tests and which did nothing but make me feel scattered and unsatisfied The right way to read this book Slowly over time when you feel like a literary aperitif Then it will be a trea. Oney Maurice Blanchot to Louise Brooks The series of ssays that follow on figures central to Zambreno’s thinking including Kathy Acker David Wojnarowicz and Barbara Loden are manifestos about art that ingeniously intersect and chime with the stories that came before the. .

Kate Zambreno ↠ 2 Free read

.
I LOVED this book Not least of which because Kate Zambreno and I are obsessed with all the xact same artists Kathy Acker Chantal Akerman Susan Sontag Clarice Lispector Marguerite Duras David Wojnarowicz The way all the little ssaysmemoirsstories shapeshift from one topic to another one and back again so seamlessly I don little ssaysmemoirsstories shapeshift from one topic to another one and back again so seamlessly I don know how to describe her writing style besides calling it very personal and very fluid in the way it blends biography and autobiography so fluid in the way it blends biography and autobiography so Every piece in here is short and sweet and it s all so full of insights and connections and commentary on celebrity and "MYTHS OF STARDOM THIS IS LITERALLY EVERYTHING I LOOK "of stardom This is literally One Ticket To Texas everything I look in a book and also a bizarrely well timed read after I read Chantal Akerman s memoir and Kathy Acker s interview book both of which overlapped in a big way with a lot of thesessays Pretentious shite Genuinely a struggle to get through this despite how short Helpmate each chapter is Had to stop at 49% and go stressat some carbs before I could dredge up the will to continue If I ver see another navel gazing ramble about Andy Warhol or Edie Sedgwick or literally any other white hipster icon I will throw myself under the shanghai metro Imagine that a middle class White Feminist with a degree in gender studies buys a shop in a run down neighbourhood converts it into a gluten free bistro and invites all their annoying white feminist friends over for a movie themed brunch This book is what you d find on the the tables instead of a menu In the tradition of Benjamin Sontag and Barthes Kate Zambrero creates her own Her fictional persona ven if it is closed to her real self moves through culture reshaping the stablishment Her voices is vocative of a Joan of Arc who struggles while achieving like Beckett s Watt and like Dostoevsky s the Idiot not knowing the lasting impact of her words This last thing is meant as compliment Not that many contemporary writers are unafraid to recognize the fragment self and that our consciousness is always in deep struggle with depression We have the same taste in artists so A new work ual parts observational micro fiction and cultural criticism reflecting on the dailiness of life as a woman and writer on fame and failure aging and art from the acclaimed author of Heroines Green Girl and O Fallen AngelIn the first half of Kate Zambreno’s as. ,
Enjoyed reading her uips about those people but sometimes her voice as a writer reads like a 2010 tumblr text post Screen Tests is an artfully poised lineup of uasi Warholian novels and films Kate Zambreno makes a strong case for ach of these put upon female artists while the collection is also a shimmering delight in and of itself Really Gypsy World: The Silence of the Living and the Voices of the Dead enjoyed the final twossays New York City Summer 2013 and One Can Be Dumb and Unhappy at Exactly the Same Time true Meh Too much name dropping too much coyness way way way too much navel gazing You re just not that interesting Kate nobody s that interesting Not
EVEN ANY OF THE PEOPLE THAT 
any of the people that t you that you occasionally try to write about Ideas are interesting and when you Bryozoan Evolution engage with ideas concepts works you re interesting too But the rest of this is just tiresome and reads like someone s lightlydited private journal A few passages from Screen TestsIn a recent interview I was asked to name a book I thought should be remembered And I chose the u b cois writer Catherine Mavrikakis s A Cannibal and Melancholy Mourning The narrator hotly mourns all of these friends who have dies of AIDS all named Herv The narrator says she loves works that are tender and cruel and that is what this is for me a jeremiad a beautiful complaint The book is inspired by Herv Guibert s autoportrait To the Friend Who Did Not Save My Life fictionalizing his friends Michel Foucault s death from AIDS which also documents Guibert s own diagnosis like a French companion to Close to the Knives The interviewer asked me to talk about New Narrative and I told him that it was an avant garde ueer mostly American literary scene circling around community and specially memorializing friends and lovers who died of community and specially memorializing friends and lovers who died of refusing their disappearance I rattled off names of New Narrative writers Bruce Boone Dodie Bellamy Kevin Killian Kathy Acker Gail Scott The interviewers asked me if I thought there would Silvers Edge ever be another movement where writers could be angry in force again if there would be another crisis that would allow for a politica. Toundingly original collection Screen Tests the narrator regales us with incisive and witty swatches from a life lived inside a brilliant mind meditating on aging and vanity fame and failure writing and writers along with portraits ofveryone from Susan Sontag to Amal Clo. .
Island Fortress: The Defence of Great Britian 1606-1945 Half a Wife: The Working Family's Guide to Getting a Life Back
Screen Tests Stories and Other Writing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *